Skip to content

Yeah, I’d Say She’s Ready

January 21, 2011

I’ve seen two documents this week that prove The Bug is ready to venture into the world. She might as well go to work, start earning her keep around here.

First, I found this in her school folder. I vaguely know about Junior Achievement. I sat with a fundraiser from that organization a few weeks ago and pretended that I knew exactly what it was. But what are they teaching my first grader, that makes her “work ready?” Hope she can make enough to cover her daycare and her Squinky habit. And evidently, she can even start her own business. Hmmm… maybe I should call Junior Achievement and see if they have adult classes.

But this is what I’m really proud of. I had to work the other night, so J. was in charge of bedtime. I’m not sure exactly what happened, but I believe he told The Bug that she couldn’t use the lotion/bath gel she received for her birthday because it’s made in China. So he explained about poison in chinese products. He also tried to explain what human rights are, and that some people are treated unfairly in certain parts of the world.

*Note: this is tough stuff to talk to kids about, especially (I think) when the kids are so smart. She remembers everything. There’s a balance between being honest and giving too much information. We’ve wondered what to say to her about Tucson, about September 11 (on the anniversaries, obviously), and about other bad situations and things that have happened to people in our own little personal bubble of life. 

When I woke her up in the AM, she was still concerned about China, their poisonous toys and their unfair treatment of some people. So she wrote a letter to President Obama to ask him to do something about it. She believes he can fix just about anything. I wish that were true.

Yes, since I don’t have any fancy photoshop software (or skills), I covered her name with a napkin for my anonymous blog. And I guess he also explained intellectual property and copyright infringement.

So maybe she’ll soon be making a great career out of being a self-employed lobbyist. A mama can dream!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Drew permalink
    January 21, 2011 3:33 pm

    Sorry, but the China part made me laugh…..alot. Way to go Bug!!

  2. January 21, 2011 3:41 pm

    I am a bit worried that whomever reads this, will just think we’re a family of xenophobes!

  3. January 21, 2011 5:48 pm

    Wow, J doesn’t mess around when it comes time to reading a bedtime story. What an amazing letter from that sweet little girl. I bet it put a big smile on your face.

  4. jec permalink
    January 21, 2011 8:56 pm

    Yep–send her out into the world. And she’s writing a book, too! Need a little help in getting it published? This is great. And especially relevant because of the state dinner for President Hu (unattended by the ignorant and graceless House Majority Leader).

  5. jec permalink
    January 21, 2011 9:01 pm

    You mailed the letter, right?

  6. January 25, 2011 2:54 pm

    I bet if we decided not to use any products from China, our homes would be virtually empty! But, way to go Jay in starting somewhere on the Chinese cleansing. I know the economy of our personal household would improve if we didn’t buy anything from China! No more Target!! Awesome letter and definitely showing signs of a budding activist!

Leave a Reply

