Skip to content

The Grand Plan

January 7, 2011

I had dinner last night with two former co-workers. We all worked for the same organization a few years ago, and we all ended up hating it. We now all have different jobs, and have some pretty strong feelings about those as well. Both of these ladies have “grand plans” about they’re going to do next. They involve writing books, going to graduate school, working on farms, hiking the Appalachin Trail, getting pregnant. I should mention that both of these women are in their mid 20’s.

It was nice to catch up with some fellow commiserators, but I have to admit I was a little discouraged that I don’t have a “grand plan” of my own. I guess it’s a bit easier for them to change their lives in an instant, because they don’t have mortgages, kids, etc. to take care of. But I would like to come up with the realistic equivalent of my “grand plan.” I’m feeling really antsy and like something major needs to change.

I’m not unhappy, I’m not planning on leaving my life as we know it behind. But I love change, and I really want to experience a big one right about now.

And I assure you… the change I want DOES NOT involve hiking the Appalachin Trail, getting pregnant or working on a farm.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

