Skip to content

Traditions

December 9, 2010

Ah, the holidays… Peace, love and joy quickly give way to stress, depression and drama. Or at least that’s the way it seems. I’ve seen a million articles/blog posts/TV spots with titles like, “How to avoid stress during the holidays.” So I’m assuming there’s a lot of stress out there to be avoided. I will admit that I’m not a very “stressed” person, at least I don’t show it outwardly (except when I whine on my blog, but I don’t run around frazzled or anything).

I love Christmas. Especially with kids – I love the lights, wrapping their presents, the whole “feeling” of the season. But I have never allowed myself to set any crazy expectations. I don’t buy presents for a million people, I don’t go crazy decorating every room in the house and I don’t feel like I have to bake a million perfectly personalized gingerbread cookies. *Sidebar: I told J. this AM that I was excited about our new fridge because I could keep cookie dough in it. His response: “But your cookies are so bad.” This may be one reason why expectations are low. **Yes, he bought me a refrigarator for Xmas. For the basement. Love.

Anyway, I’ve been thinking a lot this year about holiday traditions. Some of our traditions are changing, because my dad will not be here. This makes me sad, especially because Christmas was definitely a time that I always associated with him.

But I’m also looking towards new traditions. Or things we do once that fail miserably and don’t become traditions at all. We will bake cookies. We will have the girls open one present (matching pajamas, of course) on Christmas Eve. We will host an open house type party in the afternoon/evening of Christmas Day for anyone who is in town and available. These have become our family traditions. We also might go to the VA Museum of Fine Arts, because they are open 365 days/year (the idea of having the entire museum to ourselves for a couple of hours is very appealing to me)! We may cook or order some “non-christmas like” food to eat that day. We may drive around on Christmas Eve on the Tacky Lights Tour. I don’t know exactly what we’re going to do. And I kind of like it.

I was inspired this morning by this post, which I found through Org Junkie.

One Comment leave one →
  1. jec permalink
    December 9, 2010 4:31 pm

    A refrigerator? for the basement? sounds like a good idea.
    a million years ago, long before you were born, when we lived in a horrible (but cheap) apartment in D.C., your dad painted a big red heart on the refrigerator for Valentine’s Day–then we painted the whole thing red!

Leave a Reply

