Skip to content

Check It

November 3, 2010

That’s what I’ll be doing in 2 years. Let’s check in with all the morons who voted for “change” and “to get something done in Washington.” I’ll check and see what their lives are looking like. I’m guessing they won’t be much better, and if they are it won’t have much to do with what the morons they voted for yesterday have done! And there will be just as many other people who feel like “something’s got to change.”

As anyone who knows me knows, I am a Democrat. I almost always vote for a Democrat. I have been known to vote for a Republican here and there, for various reasons. But I’m a Dem. I used to be a professional Democrat. I used to spend every Election Day and the weeks leading up to it working my ass off to get people I believed in elected. And more often that not, I lost.

But I’m not even mad today about party politics. Yes, Republicans won in unprecedented numbers last night. Yes, we lost control of the House of Representatives. But that’s not what I’m so mad about. I’m mad that people continue to allow themselves to be duped, over and over, every year. People always say they’re upset with what’s going on Washington (or in Richmond, in the case of VA politics). They’re always “voting for Change.” Whatever. They also always say they’re disgusted with negative campaigning, GOTV calls and mail pieces. But these things consistently and effectively work, time after time. Just consider yourself lucky to be a part of the electorate, mute your TV, use your caller ID and your recycling bin. And shut it. And make some change yourself. I didn’t vote for President Obama 2 years ago for “Hope and Change.” I voted for him because I believed, and still believe, that he can do better things for this country. His job just got a lot tougher, but I still believe I made the right choice.

I can’t even bring myself to write what I think about two of the people Virginians elected last night. One incumbent in my district (there was never much doubt that he’d win) and one challenger in SW VA. Both of them are phony, extreme and out to help themselves. They are the definition of “insider politics.” (Well, maybe I can bring myself to write about it a little bit.)

But we’ll see what they’ve done for VA in 2 years. It will be very hard to get rid of them electorally, but I guarantee they won’t bring the “change” we need.

That’s my post election rant. Maybe this is just what I needed to inspire me enough to get back to the blog!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 3, 2010 3:10 pm

    You tell ’em!

  2. demgrandmom permalink
    November 5, 2010 2:01 am

    Why don’t you say what you REALLY think? it is discouraging. I don’t really remember how I ended up in Virginia . . .

Leave a Reply

