Skip to content

That’s A Big Pig

October 5, 2010

That’s what The Bean said when we saw this mama pig at The Virginia State Fair on Sunday.

I LOVE the Fair. I know, those of you who know me are probably surprised. But even though we spent a small fortune on crappy stuffed animals, hot dogs and rickety rides, it was awesome. Next year I want to go several times during the 10 days or so that the Fair is in town.

Because I want to do that, and because it costs a small fortune, we’re going to institute a “Next Big Thing” jar around here. We’re going to put all our change and any extra money we want to save up in a jar for whatever our next family excursion is. Vacation, the fair, Christmas, whatever. It’s amazing how fast we can blow through some cash, and I’m hoping this will help. My plan is to get one of these chalkboard label jars, so we can change the tag to note what we’re saving up for.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

(worldmarket.com)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2010 1:38 pm

    I’m stealing this idea. (Not your cash, although I could use some of that too. The idea, however, is priceless.)

    Oh, and so is the pig.

  2. October 6, 2010 11:40 pm

    I love chalkboard paint – so fun. Glad you had fun at the fair. They are definitely great and make for fun memories. I hear Leesburg has a nice one. 🙂

  3. Grandmama permalink
    October 7, 2010 5:32 pm

    That is SOME pig! especially to the Bean–she must look like an elephant. Happy saving.

Leave a Reply

