Skip to content

Are We That Family?

September 27, 2010

It’s Sunday night, tomorrow another week of school and work begins. There’s a part of me that loves the routine of weekdays, even when the upcoming week is crazy, like this one is.

But the one thing that I really dread on Sunday nights… is getting to the bus stop. I hate the rush of the morning, I hate reminding the girls over and over (and over and over) to “finish your breakfast, brush your teeth, tie your shoes…” But you know what I hate the most?

I hate that we are always the last family to get to the bus stop. We’re often speed walking or running because when we round the corner, the bus is already there and the other kids are climbing on. And I hate that The Bug has missed the bus. We’ve come around that corner, and realized that the bus had come and gone.

I realize that in the grand scheme of things, hell even in the scheme of my life right now, this is a miniscule problem. But it causes me stress when I think about it. Maybe now that I’ve written it out, I will realize how ridiculous it is and get over it!

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 4, 2010 3:09 pm

    We implemented a reward system last year (tokens that he can “cash in” for minutes the Wii or PSP). This year we added Getting Ready on Time to the list of eligible rewarding behavior. Seems to have worked so far. We define being ready on time as not having to eat breakfast in the car (something we did nearly every day last year). Oh and he can lose tokens for not doing it the first time he’s asked (although we give a courtesy warning). Maybe there is a way to motivate the girls?

Leave a Reply

