Skip to content

Pour Some Earplugs On Me!

August 19, 2010

I love that my daughters are music lovers. How could they not be when their father has a recording studio, complete with drum kit, in the basement? But I’m not sure I can handle this. Tonight, J. started calling The Bug into the living room when she was getting ready for bed. I heard what I thought was the Def Leppard song “Photograph” playing. Once I got The Bean settled into bed, I went out to see what they were doing.

The CMT show “Crossroads” was on. The show matches a country artist with a rock or other artist, and sometimes it makes for an interesting mix (think The Dixie Chicks & James Taylor). But I’m not sure that I liked this one. Taylor Swift and Def Leppard. Now, some would argue that Swift is not country and she is played on pop stations. Even Def Leppard said, “take out the fiddle and you’ve got pop music.” But that’s the case with most music that’s called country and played on the radio these days, so we’ll go with it.

The Bug LOVES Taylor Swift. And I will admit that her songs are catchy, and my 6 year old could be listening to worse music. But there’s just something about Taylor Swift that I don’t like. Maybe it’s because she looks like a little girl playing dress up. Maybe it’s because I don’t actually like her voice very much.

Whatever it is, I may be scarred for life after hearing this rendition of “Pour Some Sugar on Me.” This was undoubtedly one of my favorite songs of all time. Thankfully, she doesn’t do too much damage to it here. But I’m not sure I’ll ever be able to to hear it in the same way again.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 19, 2010 2:27 am

    Is this the same show where Miley Cyrus does “Every Rose Has Its Thorn”? I wish I was making this up. One of my FB friends mentioned that she heard her do a rendition of this and nearly keeled over.

    Betty is a huge Taylor Swift fan too. Def Leppard shouldn’t be allowed anywhere near Ms. Swift, IMHO. 🙂

  2. August 19, 2010 1:04 pm

    I think this is one thing that bothers me about it… something about those guys and that little baby face girl. Yuck.

  3. jec permalink
    August 19, 2010 4:44 pm

    Ha ha ha ha. Love it! What you get for marrying a musician . . . and having kids. Especially girls! I can’t wait for the girls’ band, “Stage Fright,” debut.

  4. jec permalink
    August 19, 2010 4:45 pm

    Oh–and two words–Purple Rain.

Leave a Reply

