Skip to content

Theme Song

June 7, 2010

Recently I mentioned that I hear a song and that I think of it as my “theme song” for awhile. I have always been a fan of the Dixie Chicks. Yes, I listen to way more pop country that I will admit to my husband, but even he likes the Chicks. Theyr’e actual musicians, as opposed to so many performers. And yes, I happen to agree with Natalie Maines’ politics.

Anyway, I have liked this song since this album came out a few years ago. If you remember, Maines spoke her mind at a European concert, calling G.W. Bush an idiot, or something like that. A few applauded her honesty and outspokeness, but many called her a traitor, bulldozed their CDs, etc. Whatever. This album still did really well, but that incident definitely changed the Chicks’ careers.

The reasons I have been loving this song recently, have very little to do with politics. (Although when I found this video and saw the oil graphics in the background, it got me all worked up about the BP oil spill again.) But I’ve been listening to this a lot in the last several weeks. It fits into a lot of what I’ve been thinking… forgiving is pretty easy, takes less energy and is the “right” thing to do. But forgetting and “getting over it” is much harder.

And while death threats don’t fit into my recent life, that part of the song makes for some great driving music. Noone on the road can see me yelling to this song, can they?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. jec permalink
    June 8, 2010 10:23 pm

    No need to forget, but sometimes it’s kinder to yourself to get over it, as much as possible.

  2. Emily permalink
    June 11, 2010 1:32 pm

    Thanks for reminding me how much I LOVE this song. It’s been too long since I’ve heard it. It’s not so much the forgiving/forgetting that speaks to me in this song, though. It’s that I definitely identify with not apologizing for who I am or ever backing down! GO CHICKS!

Leave a Reply

