Skip to content

Song for the Day

May 13, 2010
tags: ,

I’ve been thinking a lot recently about “theme songs.” The songs that sum up the way I’m feeling change from day to day, sometimes from hour to hour. There are a couple I’ve been coming back to over the past few weeks, and maybe I’ll put them up here soon. But today has its own song.

10 years ago today J. and I were married and danced to this song. As some of you may remember, it was a lovely spring day in Richmond. And if you remember it that way, you obviously had too much to drink because in reality, it was HOT AS HELL. But it was a great time nonetheless.

And while occasionally I’m sure he thinks I’m walking through my own little world, we’re here, and we’re walking through it together. J. doesn’t read this blog regularly, but I hope he does today so he knows that I love him, and I love that he makes me laugh until I cry, and that he makes records in our basement, that he buys our girls Guns N Roses t shirts and that he reminds me to lighten up and have fun when I’m getting a little close to the edge.

Happy Anniversary J.!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. jjjimi permalink
    May 13, 2010 2:07 pm

    HAPPY
    (Keith Richards)

    Well I never kept a dollar past sunset,
    It always burned a hole in my pants.
    Never made a school mama happy,
    Never blew a second chance, oh no

    I need a love to keep me happy,
    I need a love to keep me happy.
    Baby, baby keep me happy.
    Baby, baby keep me happy.

    Always took candy from strangers,
    Didn’t wanna get me no trade.
    Never want to be like papa,
    Working for the boss ev’ry night and day.

    I need a love to keep me happy,
    I need a love, baby won’t ya keep me happy.
    Baby, won’t ya keep me happy.
    Baby, please keep me

    I need a love to keep me happy,
    I need a love to keep me happy.
    Baby, baby keep me happy.
    Baby, baby keep me happy.

    Never got a flash out of cocktails,
    When I got some flesh off the bone.
    Never got a lift out of Lear jets,
    When I can fly way back home.

    I need a love to keep me happy,
    I need a love to keep me happy.
    Baby, baby keep me happy.
    Baby, baby keep me happy

  2. May 13, 2010 2:56 pm

    Happy Anniversary!

  3. jec permalink
    May 13, 2010 3:10 pm

    Hot? you call that hot? Almost as hot as your graduation day, which also took place in mid-May. Guess you’re just HOT. Congratulations and love.

  4. May 13, 2010 7:20 pm

    Happy 10th to you both! Time sure flies when you’re having fun, doesn’t it? I can believe we’ve been married almost 12 years, but believing you’ve been married for 10 is a little hard!!!

  5. Sassy permalink
    May 14, 2010 2:22 am

    Happy Aniversary M & J
    Remembering a beautiful spring day…wishing you many more
    Love you both
    m

    • jec permalink
      May 14, 2010 3:28 pm

      Yeah–obviously had too much to drink.

      • May 18, 2010 1:32 am

        Happy Anniversary! (a little belated, but the sentiment is still there 😉

Leave a Reply

