Skip to content

Another One?

February 4, 2010

Evidently when I named this post (One of) My Bad Habits, I was right to do so. Because I do have at least one more (please don’t tell me if you know of another one – I’m getting a little tired of this). Not only do I move my hands too much when I talk, but I giggle. Giggle! Not sure if I should be embarassed, offended, annoyed, what?

I really don’t want to giggle when I speak, but I had no idea I was doing it. I don’t drink at work events, because I know that I start to giggle after a couple glasses of wine. But this was news.

The only thing that ultimately bothers me about being told I giggle when I speak to a group, is that the group is always going to have a reason why they shouldn’t take me seriously. My hands. My giggle. Whatever. They don’t want to hear what I have to say, and they never will, because it will mean they have to do something!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Robin permalink
    February 4, 2010 3:38 am

    who is telling you this?

  2. February 5, 2010 6:42 pm

    I’ve known you all these years and I don’t remember a time when I heard you giggle! Talking with your hands, yes, but giggling, no! But seriously, I think there could be a lot worse bad habits to have than those. And the people that like to point out bad habits-shame on them!

  3. demmom permalink*
    February 6, 2010 12:55 am

    Thanks, Kim. That actually makes me feel good that you don’t think I giggle. I guess I’m not in the habit of giving “speeches” to you, but I would think you would have noticed it by now. I have known you more than half my life!

  4. Emily permalink
    February 6, 2010 4:04 am

    I’m with Kim, I would never describe you as a “giggler”!

  5. jec permalink
    February 6, 2010 9:02 pm

    I’m telling you, they’re just jealous because they don’t have dimples. Next time you give a talk, stand absolutely still, with your hands at your sides, solemn expression on your face, and just give them the facts, deadpan. And then hear them criticize you for not being animated enough!

  6. February 25, 2010 5:59 am

    Same comment as Kim and Emily … I have seen you in work settings and I don’t remember hands (not excessively anyway) or giggles.

    Apparently, I’ve developed some habit of turning beet red when I am trying to make a point. Happened yesterday with my boss when I was discussing an issue with another individual that has me irked. I honestly felt like I acquired a fever within minutes. This, obviously, is not the best trait for folks who do what we do.

    I’m also with you on the not drinking during work events. One of my cardinal life rules.

Leave a Reply

