Skip to content

Gate – Gate

December 4, 2009

That’s got to be the name of the White House party crasher scandal, right? Gate crashers… come on, tell me you get it.

Ahem, anyway…

A few years before they thought they were invited to the White House state dinner, The Party Crashers were running a winery in Northern VA. They were donors of cash and wine to the gubernatorial campaign I worked on several years ago. I served their wine at an event I held in Roanoke in 2003.  VA is basically a small town. Everyone has a story about this couple. But my favorite took place right here in the capital city, during the legislative session a few years ago.

The couple came down in one of their company’s shiny, white limosuines to lobby for some legislation concerning wine sales in VA. While sitting in the committee room, Mrs. Crasher heard something she didn’t like or didn’t agree with. She started yelling, “Excuse me, excuse me, point of order! Point of order!”  A veteran senator, a very serious man said, “Miss, you don’t say that. We say that.”

I don’t know what this couple’s motivation was in going to a party that they were clearly not invited to. And honestly, I couldn’t care less. But I will admit to being somewhat drawn to this story, because of my “connections” to these people. I was thinking that a “Housewives of DC” couldn’t be interesting because noone in Washington would agree to be a part of it. But I forget that some people treat politicians like celebrities, so I guess DC is prime real estate for climbers and wannabes.

One Comment leave one →
  1. jec permalink
    December 4, 2009 1:57 pm

    What’s amazing now is the Republicans are trying to make a big partisan thing of it. Hearings, subpeonas, demanding that the White House social secretary appear before Congress. Why were no social office staff stationed at the gate? The White House is stonewalling! What? Obviously the president has something to hide. A frightening breach of security, yes; a Democratic plot, no.

Leave a Reply

