Skip to content

The High Price of Free School

December 1, 2009

As I looked through The Bug’s “Weekly Communication Folder” tonight, I was reminded of a blog post that I read last night. I know this is a common complaint, but like this writer, I thought my experience would be different. But… no.

Since kindergarten started in September we have paid:

Yearbook (do kindergarteners need yearbooks?): $17

Pumpkin patch field trip (a place I would pay more to NEVER have to go again): $6

Wrapping paper fundraiser: $16

Book orders (order books from a flyer, get them in a few weeks): $30

Miscellaneous cash for “Adopt an Animal” week at the local nature preserve

$5 to buy gifts for the kindergarten “basket” to be auctioned off at this weekend’s “Winter Wonderland” PTA event. My choice here was contributing an item that fit the theme “Just for Her.” Um, yeah, easier to give $5

Today, we learned that there is a Bake Sale at the “Winter Wonderland” party, so we’re supposed to send a baked good by Thursday. It’s even noted in the flyer that it can be store bought. At least they’re acknowledging those of us who can’t get our baking act together on just 3 days notice! So that will cost me something.

Having a Terrific Kid at a nearby public school: PRICELESS

(totally cliched end line, I know, but true)

One Comment leave one →
  1. jec permalink
    December 2, 2009 8:14 pm

    Terrible! and the bake sale etc. so ridiculous. Did I order wrapping paper, btw?
    At least she’s not in after-school sports–expensive; and now in Loudoun high school sports is VERY expensive.

Leave a Reply

