Skip to content

(One of) My Bad Habits

October 21, 2009

In the final day of my non-profit’s Board meeting yesterday, we held the Development Cmte. meeting. Obviously, as the Development Director, this is my meeting. The “committee” in the case of Development is all 30 members of the Board. When we were getting ready to start yesterday, I walked toward the front of the room. The outgoing Board President pulled me aside and said “When you talk to the group, try to keep your hands by your sides. A couple of Directors have said that it is distracting when you move your hands a lot while you speak.”

Wow.

I was totally thrown. I was actually a little insulted, which was probably an over reaction, but it was how I felt. The worst part was that this happened about 2 minutes before the meeting started, and I ended up being totally distracted by trying to keep my hands down. I believe they should just listen, and not worry about my hands. But evidently my enthusiasm and demonstrativeness (is that a word?) is distracting.

The fact is, that I’m always saying the same thing in these meetings… “Raise More Money.” But my hands are evidently distracting from that message.

When I came home and told J. this story, he said I shouldn’t worry about it… because I have much worse and more annoying habits than talking with my hands! It’s always nice to be supported, at work and at home.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. JEC permalink
    October 21, 2009 4:32 pm

    Sounds like someone (the director) with a bad case of can’t walk and chew gum at the same time. They’re just jealous.

  2. October 21, 2009 4:47 pm

    I think it might run in your family…your brother talks with his hands and he has apparently given that trait to his sons as well. Even Brett “talks” with his hands. I would have completely freaked out if my boss had said that to me right before “my” meeting as well! And I hope you gave J a little smack for his “support”! Thanks for the chuckle today (hope you’re ok with someone chuckling-did I spell that right?-over your story!

  3. Emily permalink
    October 23, 2009 3:28 pm

    Ok that really made me laugh out loud! Not at your predicament (sp?) but at your husband’s utter lack of tact! Way to go, J! Btw, I think you are a great speaker and storyteller so I say forget what that doofus said. How rude!

  4. October 23, 2009 4:07 pm

    Obviously, J. was joking. LOL.

  5. JEC permalink
    October 23, 2009 6:50 pm

    I told her it’s her Italian heritage–Frank’s cousin Guido is her cousin Guido, no? I think that “lady” was just jealous of her pretty hands.

  6. Emily permalink
    October 26, 2009 7:22 pm

    must be!

Leave a Reply

