Skip to content

2 Years Ago

September 11, 2009

2 years ago, I met The Bean. I feel like she’s always been a part of my life, a part of our family. But it’s only been 2 years!

J. said this morning that he didn’t remember her birth as clearly as The Bug’s, so we talked about our different memories. I was scheduled to be induced, but I was nervous that it was bad for her to “rush” her. I was also, as my mom reminded me, worried that they would send me home because they’d have too many people wanting to have babies on Sept. 10 (instead of waiting until Sept. 11). The main thing I remember is that I was up almost the whole night before, and I cried to both J. and my mom before we left for the hospital.

After we were all checked in at the hospital, we were told that they weren’t taking any more elective inductions because they were so full with people who didn’t want to have babies on 9/11. I REALLY didn’t care about that date, I just wanted to have The Bean when my doctor was on duty. Once we were at the hospital, they also told me that I WAS IN LABOR. I just hadn’t realized it. 

The conversation went something like this, “Do you feel those contractions?” Me: “Uh, no.”

Anyway, blah blah, epidural, heart beat dropping, doctor running in and out, and then The Bean! And things have never been the same.

She, like The Bug, has been through a lot (including some similar medical issues), but she’s a very different person. She’s adventurous and smart, sweet and cuddly, helpful and brave. She’s as beautiful as her sister, but in different ways. She wants to be just like her big sister, and they play together wonderfully. Here’s hoping that lasts forever.

Happy Birthday Bean (or Cupcake, as everyone but me calls you!). We love you like crazy every single day!!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 11, 2009 3:46 am

    Aww … what a sweet post! Happy Birthday to you, Little Bean!

  2. September 11, 2009 11:41 am

    Awwww, happy birthday sweet girl!

  3. Robin permalink
    September 11, 2009 3:20 pm

    Two years already? I remember Mary and I being nervous wrecks because we hadn’t heard from you so we stalked Lindsey. Happy Birthday Bean!

  4. jec permalink
    September 12, 2009 12:34 pm

    I love hearing her giggle. Love and kisses.

Leave a Reply

