Skip to content

When Did This Happen?

September 2, 2009

The Bug and I are enjoying a “stay-cation” this week, hanging out and relaxing before kindergarten starts next week. I, by the way, may never go to the beach again. I love the vacation at home. I know, I’m a dork!

Anyway, I’m feeling a bit less emotional about kindergarten. I’m thinking I may not totally lose it and bawl when she gets on the bus on Tuesday. I’m stressed about the schedule, how she’ll like it, what friends she’ll make, etc. But I’m not feeling as freaked out about the concept of “school” as much as I was a few weeks ago.

This may be because we went to an event at The Bug’s school and met her principal and teacher. Now that I have names and faces, I’m feeling a bit more relaxed.

Or, it may be because another milestone has replaced kindergarten in our house. The Bug has a loose tooth! I can’t believe it! My first reacation was, “Did something hit you?” But no, I think it’s just a regular old loose tooth. I cannot believe it. I cannot believe that perfect smile is going to have a hole in it!

I don’t know when I became the kind of parent that obsesses over these little things, but here I am. I guess all I can do is enjoy each change and look forward to the next one!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. JEC permalink
    September 3, 2009 4:07 pm

    A loose tooth! how exciting–that inimitable gap-toothed smile. The tooth fairy. She’s definitely ready for kindergarten now.

  2. coot permalink
    September 6, 2009 3:44 pm

    Now she can look like Grampop.

Leave a Reply

