Skip to content

It Takes a Village… and Some Luck

July 15, 2009

It happened again. It seems that everytime I drive out of the city limits of Richmond, one of my kids get sick. Today I went into the office, which I do on most Tuesdays, and which  is almost 90 minutes away. J. was in the middle of a huge surprise inspection at work, which only happens every 3 years. He could not leave the hospital to take The Bug home.

I started calling friends to try and find someone who could pick up The Bug and keep her for a couple hours. Several friends either weren’t around, or were busy with other things. I finally thought to call one of my best friends, who was at work. It occurred to me that it might be easier for someone to leave work for a little while at lunchtime, drop The Bug off at a babysitter’s (who agreed to take her), and go back to work while her son napped happily at his daycare center, then it would be for someone who had to do all that while juggling their 2 or 3 kids.

My wonderful friend agreed immediately, took down all the directions, and gave up her lunch hour to help us. She was worried that The Bug wouldn’t fit into her 18 month old’s car seat, in her small two door car so a co-worker of hers offered up her SUV and yet another co-worker lent them her child’s booster seat. My friend and her colleague drove downtown, picked up The Bug, and drove her back out to the suburbs to the sitter’s.

This whole episode was “but a blip” in the grand scheme of things. But it initially really upset me. What kind of mom doesn’t have a better back up plan? What kind of mom works 90 minutes away? Most of that upset was replaced by surprise and gratitude for what my friend, and two other people I’ve never met did for me and for The Bug. I have every intention of repaying the favor whenever it’s needed, and I’m trying to think of something wonderful to send to my friend’s office for her and my stranger saviors! And in a couple days something else will happen and I’ll stop beating myself up about this one, and I’ll move on.

BTW, The Bug is fine. A little virus is sweeping through my house (I’m the only one who has escaped it thus far).

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 15, 2009 1:35 pm

    Glad to hear The Bug just has a little bug. As for what kind of mom works 90 minutes away, well … ((raising hand here))) … guilty as charged.

    But the reality of the situation is that this sort of scenario could have occured even if you worked 9 minutes away instead of 90. It’s a rare mom (working outside/in the home, self-employed, etc. etc. etc.) that has never been caught between a rock and a hard place in such a situation. For every mom who is gung-ho to criticize others’ choices (or, we moms who criticize our own), there are, happily, a dozen others who are usually able to pitch in when needed.

    Glad it all worked out, and especially, that Bug is doing better. 🙂

  2. JEC permalink
    July 15, 2009 4:00 pm

    No beating yourself up allowed. Does anyone ever ask fathers, “What’s your back-up plan if your child gets sick?” I didn’t think so. It was bad luck that it happened while you were both unable to get her, but good luck that you have such a great friend and other moms who understood and wanted to help. I’m sure they look at it as “paying it forward”–sooner or later everyone needs help with such a situation. Maybe a nice edible fruit arrangement for the office.

  3. JEC permalink
    July 15, 2009 4:00 pm

    Well, of course fruit is presumably edible, but you know what I mean.

Leave a Reply

