Skip to content

80’s Music Memory – Michael Jackson

June 26, 2009

  The record we all had, the poster that was on everyone's wall

The M.J. song that keeps playing through my mind is “Pretty Young Thing.” I was trying to teach The Bug the words last night as I watched the coverage of the death of the King of Pop. Maybe there wasn’t a video for this song, but I found this karoake screen thing to remind me of the words. Now that I see all the lyrics, it’s probably not all that appropriate for a 5 year old, but whatever.

My memory of this song is of my nightshirt that said “Pretty Young Thing” on it.  It was blue and the letters were hot pink, in that great 80’s graffiti look writing. Anyway, for my 10th birthday party I had a slumber party, and in the morning we had all the couch cushions on the floor and we were jumping on the pillows, doing flips around the room, etc. (Yes, this seems like something my 5 year old would now, but I guess it was a simpler time!)

One of the girls’ father came to pick her up. He also happened to be the principal of the middle school, where I would be starting in a couple of months. I remember being so embarassed that this principal saw me in my nightshirt. My mom was probably embarassed too, I don’t know. I’m still sort of friends with his daughter, we caught up at a high school reunion a couple years ago, and communicate on Facebook now. It was sort of strange that I was thinking of her and her dad last night while watching the M.J. coverage.

Another reason I remember and like this  song, is that I love any song with a “Na Na Na Na” chorus!

Another memory, that everyone my age has, is the Thriller video. How could we ever forget?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. jec permalink
    June 27, 2009 11:36 am

    I don’t remember the nightgown “incident” . . .but Michael Jackson was quite a presence in our lives during the 1980s.

  2. June 29, 2009 8:51 pm

    Adult alarm sounds,
    Doctor makes a run for it,
    Jacko will live on.

  3. JEC permalink
    June 30, 2009 8:13 pm

    Haiku! Bless you. I’m impressed.

Leave a Reply

