Skip to content

80’s Music Memory – Jane Says

June 5, 2009

Everytime I hear this song by Janes Addiction, the same scene flashes through my mind. I was in the back seat of someone’s car (Get your mind out of the gutter! Jeez!). We were driving home from the SAT test. So that would have been… fall of senior year? 1991? I think we took the test in Herndon? Reston?  Some nearby town. There was someone in the seat next to me… Matt (not the Matt who reads this blog, I assure you), Scott… I can’t remember who it was. But he knew EVERY word of this song, and he sang it with Perry Ferrell-esque inflection and high notes. And everyone else in the car acted like they knew what the hell the song was about. I’m sure I pretended I did too.

To this day, I have no idea what this song means (and I always want to know what songs are about). But I like it. And I have this memory EVERY time it comes on.

Might have to start a “80’s Music Memory” series. I love me some 80’s.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Emily permalink
    June 5, 2009 3:46 pm

    GREAT SONG! I also have no clue what it’s about…although I don’t particularly care! Thanks for helping me expose David to his first dose of Jane’s Addiction…WE’RE JAMMIN!

  2. June 10, 2009 3:13 am

    I love it how music can help you remember the good times. No idea what the song means either.

Leave a Reply

