Skip to content

Randomness

May 4, 2009

I know, I’m a horrible blogger. But I’ve been busy!

Since my last post I went to a family party and saw relatives I haven’t seen in YEARS, some who had never met The Bean. It was great. It actually even inspired me to do what I said I wouldn’t… join Facebook. I’ve “talked” more with my cousins in the last couple of weeks than I had in years.

I’ve also worked… a lot. We had a Board meeting, which is basically a 5 day party, with some stress, budgets, reports, cermonial woo-doo voodoo, and some more parties. It also means that I was barely home and J. was on “Mom Duty,” as he describes it. He did a great job.

While I was gone, J. turned 40. I had what I thought was a great plan, to have someone plant 20 cows in our front yard with a sign that read “Holy Cow! J. is 40 now!” But that morning, he called and said he had decided to take his birthday off. I couldn’t let him catch the poor guy in the act of sticking plastic cows in the yard that J. fusses over so much. So I had to cancel the cows and re-schedule for the next day. I was actually okay with it, because this meant I would be able to see them (I was gone overnight the night before and the night of his birthday). Just before I left the office on Tuesday, the cow guy called and said they were up. 30 minutes later they called to re-confirm my address. Sure enough, they had put the cows in the wrong yard! They moved them quickly, and when I pulled up with the girls and J. pulled up right behind us the cows were there! We met a lot of neighbors that evening, as the girls ran around and played with the cows. The Bean said nothing but “COW!” all night!

On another random note, to follow up on my last post I just have 2 words: Arlen Specter!

Finally, my baby cousin is having a baby tomorrow morning.  She’s not actually my youngest cousin, but I have such clear memories of her as a baby, that it’s hard for me to believe. I’m a little nervous for her, not because I think anything bad will happen, but because I know what it feels like when you know you’re going to the hospital to be induced. You don’t get the surprise of going into labor naturally, so you have to sit around and think about it. Anyway, I’m thinking about her a lot and am really excited about the new baby boy who will be in our family by this time tomorrow!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. JEC permalink
    May 4, 2009 4:33 pm

    The cows, the cows! Great picture. Wish I had been there to see it all. Sounds like new baby Ware will be here very soon, so the Bean won’t be the family “baby” anymore.

  2. May 6, 2009 12:48 pm

    I’m glad you are seeing the benefit of Facebook! Even I’ve connected with YOUR cousins and am enjoying getting to “know” them, even if it is online. Maybe it will prompt us to have a family reunion. Oh, and baby Ware is simply delicious. You must come see him soon!

  3. May 23, 2009 12:46 am

    love the title, b/c jodifur celebrates the randomness of life!

Leave a Reply

