Skip to content

They Got Nothin’

April 17, 2009

In the last few days I’ve heard Rush Limbaugh defend pirates, conservatives call for the end of government, and the term “teabagging” more than I thought was possible, and certainly more than I know is polite. I’ve found it all amusing, actually. Is this what the Republicans, or at least the typical conservative far right wing crazies see as the best political strategies for the times? Have at it. You’re making our job easier.

Then, I open this morning’s paper and I see that a full one third of the editorial page is taken up with this. I don’t claim to be a fan of George Will, but I figured he was at least a serious and intelligent person, albeit one I usually disagreed with. But, really? An entire colum about jeans?

I’m not going to sing the praises of denim. I hate jeans. I have a couple pairs that I wear, but I find them uncomfortable, ugly and overrated. But in a world where (to name a few things) pirates are threatening to slaughter Americans, millions of people are losing jobs as well as their insurance and their homes, 8 year olds are killed by their Sunday school teacher, and almost weekly someone commits mass murder… he is complaining about jeans.

Talk about how much money is being spent on “bailouts” and stimulus packages, a continuing war, I’ll even take a rant on how much press time has been spent on the damn Presidential dog. But talking about denim just proves what I’ve known about the Repubs all along… they got nothin’.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2009 3:30 am

    We’ll have something for ya’ll in a few years…It was great seeing you this weekend. The girls are adorable, and I hope it isn’t such a long time before we see you again.

    Love,
    Your crazy conservative younger cousin.

  2. jec permalink
    April 22, 2009 12:16 pm

    I found that column bewildering, too–I mean, why now? Jeans took over the country about 35 years ago. I guess Will thought that if he just persisted with his bow tie and suits, he would eventully win the day. He’s too old school to rant and rave with the Limbaughs, the Coulters, the Glenn Becks, so he becomes increasingly irrelevant. Definitely old codger territory. It was a mild relief from the torture memos and their apologists.
    I’m looking forward to the day that Tom (see above) runs for office, so we can campaign against him.

  3. JEC permalink
    April 30, 2009 3:27 pm

    And now they have LESS than nothing, with Arlen Specter’s defection.

Trackbacks

  1. Randomness « The Politics of Life

Leave a Reply

