Skip to content

An Old Friend is Saying Goodbye…

April 2, 2009

I heard today that Guiding Light, the longest running soap opera in history, is going off the air later this year. The show started out about 70 years ago, on the radio, “when soap operas actually sold soap,” according to the NPR report.

I am devastated. Seriously. I have been watching this show on and off since I was 9!!! I met Grant Aleksander, who plays Philip Spaulding, a few years ago. I was embarassingly excited and giddy about it.

I guess the show has been suffering, and they’ve been trying to fix the problems. For awhile, the characters and themes were very religious and then they moved away from that and started using different filming techniques – it looks like it’s live and a lot of it is filmed outside. There’s lot of loud music (that sometimes drowns out the dialogue). These changes were not well received. Obviously.

I’ve watched the show during summer vacations, sometimes in college, on maternity leaves. There won’t be anymore maternity leaves, and I guess I can find something else to do on vacation from 3-4 pm. But I’ll miss the Spauldings, the Lewises and the Coopers. Company, the lighthouse and Cedars Hospital will be places in my memories. Guiding Light… RIP.

  • I know what you’re thinking…”You don’t post to your blog for almost a month, and you come back to write about a sappy television show?” Well, yeah. There’s no good reason why I haven’t written. Serious topics, and the things going on in the world, are too serious and depressing. And I’ve been finding my own “mommy stories” boring lately, so I didn’t want to subject you to them. This story inspired me to write something, so I wrote.
3 Comments leave one →
  1. sassy permalink
    April 2, 2009 3:31 pm

    Never would have figured you for a Guiding Light girl. Learn something new everyday….

  2. April 2, 2009 3:40 pm

    All CBS soaps, actually! But GL has been around for so long, I was pretty surprised. Matt and I started watching soaps the summer I was 9. He may deny that, and I’m guessing he did not continue watching into adulthood!

  3. JEC permalink
    April 8, 2009 8:07 pm

    Yeah–you watched Guiding Light? How did I miss that? I remember my grandmother watching it. . . I’m sure you’ll be able to get DVDs of the show, when you get withdrawal symptoms. We can combine it with watching DVDs of “Real Housewives of New York City.” Although from the preview I saw last night, “Real Housewives of New Jersey” may outdo them all in crass, blatant, exhibitionism. And hilariousness.

Leave a Reply

