Skip to content

Library Loot, March 6-13

March 7, 2009

library-loot Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Robin from A Striped Armchair and Alessandra from Out of the Blue that encourages bloggers to share  the books they’ve checked out from the library. Feel free to play along on your blog, too.

 

I decided to do this tonight, after reading The Betty and Boo Chronicles. Partly because I exchanged emails with B&B’s mommy about one of the books I checked out today, and partly because like her, I spent most of the day working at home and then snuck out to the library before my kids came home. That is surely a characteristic of many mothers of young children–being so excited about going to the library alone. I love that my girls love the place, but when I do get to go alone it’s heaven! It’s the only time I actually get to wander through the fiction section, and not just run through the “New Books” section which is located near the kids’ section.

Anyway, what did I check out? I had placed a hold on my next book club book, Look Me In the Eye by John Elder Robison. So I picked that up. I actually went to get my car washed after leaving the library, and I started reading it while I was waiting for my turn. The madness that is the car wash on a 70 degree day, 4 days after 8 inches of snow, well that’s a story in itself. Anyway, Look Me… is a memoir of Robison’s life, mostly undiagnosed, with Asperger’s syndrome. His brother is Austin Burroughs, who wrote Running with Scissors and Dry, and who writes the foreword of this book.

I know very little about Asperger’s, just what I’ve read on a few blogs and seen and heard through a couple of family members and friends who have dealt with it. So I’m looking forward to this read, and to talking about it with my book club. Noone in the club has a child with an autism spectrum diagnosis, but there are several former teachers and social workers who may have some prior knowledge. My book club, I should note, spends very LITTLE time talking about the books and very MUCH time drinking wine. So, on second thought, if I want to talk about it at greater length, I’ll probably have to come back to the blogosphere!

My other books for today are Matrimony by Joshua Henkin and A Version of the Truth by Jennifer Kaufman and Karen Mack. I stole both these ideas from B&B’s mommy’s Shelfari shelf. She reviewed and even gave a way a copy of Matrimony awhile back!

Anyway, hopefully I’ll have time in the next couple of weeks to read all 3 of these. One good thing about being a fundraiser in a bad economy is job security. Everyone needs money, so they need me to ask for it. Bad news is that noone wants to give money, so I have to ask twice as many people! Just my way of saying that work is crazy and stressful, but I hope to use my latest reads as an escape!

By the way, if I’ve done the Library Loot link wrong, I apologize. Just let me know the secret and I’ll do it right next time, I promise! I will admit, I have no idea what “Mr. Linky” is.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 7, 2009 12:52 pm

    Wow … thanks for the link and the shout-outs! 🙂 Looks like you did the Library Loot correctly (I also can’t figure out Mr. Linky … he seems to have issues.) I’ll be interested in seeing what you think of Look Me In the Eye (check out the author’s blog) and Matrimony. And you know I’m with you on the life of a fundraiser in a bad economy …

  2. March 23, 2009 4:56 pm

    I know exactly what you mean. I love wandering through the library, alone. I went with my daughter on Friday and since it was just her, I had a chance to take a few minutes to pick out some books. I got Anna Karina. I’m so excited about reading this.

Leave a Reply

