Skip to content

Snow Day!

March 3, 2009

p10208041

It has not snowed around here for a long time. I mean really snowed. We get some ice every year, it’s messy and annoying, but no fun. Sunday night, though, it snowed about 8 inches here in Central VA! The Bug and The Bean have never seen this much snow, and we were all REALLY excited. Actually, The Bug said she’d never seen me as excited as I was when the snow started.

I told the girls they could stay home if it snowed a lot, and it turned out that J.’s office was closed, so we all stayed home. The Bean did not think much of the snow at first. I don’t blame her, since it came up to her waist. When we went out to build snow people, she wouldn’t let me put her down. Later in the day, The Bug and I found the closest sledding hill. It was someone’s driveway around the corner, but it was perfect for us. J. wanted to “scout out” a perfect sledding location and drive somewhere, but I knew that it wouldn’t last that long, that the girls would get cold and wet, etc.

After The Bean’s first trip down the hill on the sled, she changed her mind about the snow. She loved it! We all had a great time sledding, then out of nowhere both girls started freaking out. They were cold and wet and wanted to go home. It was time for that other great tradition of snow days… hot chocolate!

Our first true snow day in years, of course, reminded me of all the other snow days in my life. I remember huge snows when I was really young. Until I was 9, we lived in THE BOONDOCKS, and when it snowed we were stuck. For days sometimes. I remember a storm when my brother and I built a fort, and a ski (really, a sled) resort. We had different tracks, with names and signs. We’d run our orange plastic sleds down those big hills, often with eyes closed in a game of “Blind Man Driving.” Those runs sometimes ended at the foot of big trees, sometimes in the woods or the creek.

Later, in middle school, we lived “in town.” There were several storms that kept us out of school for days at a time. Now that I’m a parent, I’m trying to block out what went on during those days. Let’s just say that the memory of my first real drinking experience does not involve high school Beach Week, but there were snow drifts involved. One middle school storm “stranded” my best friend at my house for a week (I’m not sure it was really that bad, but I guess our parents figured it was better than us complaining about being ‘bored’). Later, I remember walking a LONG way to get to the best sledding hill, and staying outside in deep snow all day.

I also can’t help but think about my last semester of college, the winter of 1996. I was really kind of “over” college, and I was working in the legislature. It seemed like it would snow or sleet every Friday, which would force the state’s legislators and staff to be stuck in town all weekend. We didn’t go sledding or have snowball fights, but I remember several inches of snow in the middle of Richmond’s downtown streets. Richmond hasn’t invested a whole lot of money in snow clearing equipment! All this bad weather meant that I spent a lot more time, learning a lot more about politics and the legislature than I would have if we had all gone home every weekend. So I’ll give the weather some credit for that!

My point in this stroll down memory lane… what is my point? Oh yeah, it used to snow a lot more than it does now! I’m not sure if I really want snow every weekend, or temperatures so low that the snow that comes never melts. But one good snow like this one, maybe every year or so… I would love that. And I hope that my kids get to have some memories of winter fun and snow days (minus the juvenile delinquency of my youth).

Today is mostly back to normal, everyone’s at school and work (me working at home, still no power at my office, so most of my co-workers have another snow day). But it is COLD and the snow isn’t going anywhere. We’re totally looking forward to spring and we just paid our pool membership dues, but I’m so glad that we did get this last shot of winter before it warms up!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. jec permalink
    March 4, 2009 4:25 am

    Please! Too much information! Great picture of Richmond’s Winter Wonderland. What was the point again? Oh. . .not that you were a juvenile delinquent. . .

  2. March 4, 2009 8:50 pm

    Sounds like a lot of fun (both what you did this week and as a kid and juvenile delinquent.) I would love snow if I could do stuff like that!

    Hopefully, I’ll figure out a way to get out of the snow removal business while my kids are still young enough to want to go sledding.

    • demmom permalink*
      March 4, 2009 9:09 pm

      You were there for a lot of it! Even the juvenile delinquent part.

  3. March 13, 2009 3:41 pm

    When I see these gorgeous photos of snow, it makes me sad that I live in California. But then I think about the fact that it is often in the high 60s in February and March… and that I don’t even own a winter coat… and that I’m wearing flip flops right now.

    I know, I know you hate me too.

    I just wish we lived closer to the snow. The 4+ hr car ride only happens about twice a year.

Leave a Reply

