Skip to content

Things I Don’t Understand… And I Don’t Think I Want To

February 18, 2009

Facebook. I think I’m one of the only people left in the world who isn’t on Facebook. But am I the only person who doesn’t understand it? I’m not sure why people do it, how people do it, or what the appeal is. This is a huge news story today, and I’ve read it a few times. I still don’t get it.

Hannah Montana. Is she a real person? A TV character? A singer? And what does Billy Ray Cyrus have to do with it?

Dancing with the Stars. If you appreciate dance, why would you want to watch people who aren’t dancers, dance?

Lost. I don’t even know what to say about it, I don’t understand it that much.

Crocs. Yes, I begged my mother to buy me “Jelly shoes,” which one could argue, are also rubber shoes that don’t look like they should be worn out of the garden or locker room. But I was 9 years old.

Baseball Steroids Scandals. Why are baseball players on drugs more newsworthy than other athletes, or other regular people, on drugs? Why does Congress investigate it? My confusion is not as simple as “Doesn’t Congress have more important things to worry about?” (But um… don’t they? Hello… economy in crisis!). I just don’t understand why professional athletes’ drug use is under the jurisdiction of the federal legislature.

And finally… Why is anyone still talking about her?

So, those are some random things I’ve been thinking about, and trying (not) to figure out. What don’t you understand?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2009 4:54 am

    As for Facebook, you just need to jump right on in to understand the allure and the addiction. 🙂 You’re not the last person, though. It’s a battle between you and another friend of mine who I am trying hard to convince.

    We’re experts on Hannah in this house. Whaddya want to know? Miley Cyrus (who is real) plays a teenager named Miley Stewart. Billy Ray Cyrus (also real 🙂 plays her father. The Stewarts moved from TN to Calif. to further Miley’s singing career as Hannah Montana. But, she wants to remain a normal teenager … so she goes to school and lives her life as Miley, but she leads a double life as Hannah Montana. The show is actually very funny with a lot of in-jokes for us adults.

    I have no clue why we’re still talking about HER. Every freakin’ day it seems that there is a news story about her. Ugh.

  2. coot permalink
    February 19, 2009 3:55 pm

    Don’t know about the rest, but my neighbor gave me a pair of crocs in August, and I haven’t worn anything else since( except for one time at a funeral). Most comfortable footware I’ve ever had.Even the nurses at the hospital wear them.

  3. Sassy permalink
    February 19, 2009 9:00 pm

    Thought I’d get on Facebook,changed my mind. Don’t get it, don’t want to, but how do you get rid of these people who “want to be your friend?”

  4. JEC permalink
    February 20, 2009 9:18 pm

    Ha ha–do I recognize some of these topics? Well, I’m another non-Facebooker. I am on LinkedIn, though. Hold out against the corporate oppressors! (Facebook?)Crocs–they do sound pretty comfy. Might have to give them a try (in private, of course).

  5. February 22, 2009 2:52 am

    I’m not on facebook, never will be.

  6. February 23, 2009 4:37 pm

    I was like you, didn’t understand facebook. Now I get it. It’s fun to hear from someone you haven’t heard from in 20 years. Most of the time at least. 🙂
    I love Lost and I don’t get it. If you missed a season, you’ll have to rent it, otherwise forget about it!

  7. February 24, 2009 2:39 am

    I’m with you on all of them but Facebook. I love me some Facebook. I’ve connected with myriads of wonderful people I’d lost touch with over the years and have some really great friendships now as a result. I’ll tutor you.

  8. Emily permalink
    March 5, 2009 4:33 am

    Found you!
    I see that I’m a little late but figured I would weigh in…

    Facebook: I am a recent convert from myspace (which sucks compared to facebook). I don’t understand why these social networking sites are so addictive, however I can see where the appeal for the younger age group is. I am around the age of the oldest of the “instant gratification” generation and these sites seem to contribute to the facination with knowing everything about everyone RIGHT NOW.

    Hanna Montana: not really sure, don’t really care…but I’m not convinced she’s a very good influence on my neice/little cousins

    DWTS: (yes I used the acronym that the media uses…I spend too much time reading People) Anyway, I don’t watch it and I completely agree with you. I do watch the shows with the “real” dancers on them though.

    Lost: My favorite thing ever, but if you didn’t pick it up at the beginning, you will never get it.

    Crocs: Horrifyingly ugly (is that even a word?), but the only shoes that come close to being as comfy as flip-flops. I have the excuse of working in the medical field so I get to wear them every day!

    Steroids/baseball: Thank you! You took the words right out of my mouth! I don’t give a sh*t what they did!

    Palin: She’s like reality t.v., we watch because it makes us feel better about our own lives.

    There’s my 2 (or 3) cents.

  9. March 7, 2009 3:16 am

    I’m with you on the Facebook thing. What I really don’t get is why do I want to know what everyone is doing every minute of the day. Is my own life that boring?

    Hannah Montana wears a wig and she sings two songs, that’s about all I know about her. I need to learn more though, because Stinkerbell wants a HM birthday party next month. Ick.

    I don’t watch DWTS. I watched the first two seasons of LOST on DVD, then I came into the new season a few episodes in and was immediately lost and have not found my way back yet.

    I don’t have Crocs because they look like they’d make my feet sweaty. My girls love them though.

    I know! I don’t care about baseball/steriods or SP either.

    This was a fun post. I really enjoyed it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

