Skip to content

New Look, New Readers *UPDATED*

February 6, 2009

A quick post here to address the new look on The Politics of Life. The old layout was cool (I love black!), but hard to read and kind of depressing. I found this layout and posted a picture I had saved on my computer. Several people have said they like it, so I guess it was a good move! I think I’ll periodically change the pictures – hopefully I’ll find some interesting ones.

The current picture is not particularly relevant to the blog, but is to me. It was taken more than 20 years ago, near where I lived as a child. Yes, that’s me! It’s kind of a family favorite and even appeared on the cover of an annual publication for an org I used to work for.

In other news, I’m starting to feel like a real blogger. First, evidently my family has figured out that this is MY blog. It wasn’t too difficult I guess, but I was still a little surprised. Welcome Fam!

Second, some bloggers whose work I’ve been reading for a long time have read and commented on my blog! I was so excited to see comments from her (who also let me know I won my first blog giveaway!) and her.

Ah, I have arrived!

*UPDATE* I can’t believe I left one of the first “real” bloggers who commented here out! She even emails me!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 7, 2009 12:13 am

    Congratulations! I completely understand what you mean about having other bloggers comment on your posts. It’s a neat feeling to know that what we write is actually interesting to people outside of our families.

    If you and I keep this up, we may have to make a trip to the BlogHer conference one of these days. 🙂

    Oh, and I love the photo!

  2. February 7, 2009 2:38 pm

    Like the new look. How did your family find you?

  3. jec permalink
    February 7, 2009 5:02 pm

    Definitely MORE than 20 years ago–
    Congratulations on winning the giveaway. You tried to put a little distance between yourself and family, but THEY WILL TRACK YOU DOWN AND FIND YOU.

  4. coot permalink
    February 7, 2009 7:13 pm

    That’s the picture that makes me think of little girls.

  5. February 7, 2009 8:51 pm

    You did not have to updatel, but thanks!

  6. February 13, 2009 9:25 pm

    I like the new look. Saw the picture a couple days ago, but it’s not on there now???

  7. demmom permalink*
    February 13, 2009 10:45 pm

    Hmmm… the picture is there when I open the page. Sometimes it takes a couple seconds to appear, but it’s there.

Leave a Reply

