Skip to content

Little Girls

February 2, 2009

The other morning, as I was moving little fairies and Barbie cars off the kitchen counter in order to make breakfast, I couldn’t help but think of this song. “Annie” is one of my favorite movies, and I often hum this song when I’m picking up after my girls, or they’re being particularly dramatic. I even noticed that the Bug sings it sometimes. She’s only seen “Annie” once, but thought it was too scary, so I’m sure she learned the song from me!

Sometimes I imagine myself being buried by Barbies, pink underwear and hair bands! I know, it’s because we have too much stuff, as I discussed in this post. And really, my house is not that bad (toys on the counter are rare around here). But this song makes me laugh when I think of it as my home’s theme song, and I do have great memories of this movie.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. JEC permalink
    February 2, 2009 10:08 pm

    I think of my mom sometimes, who had to wash and iron 15 dresses a week for 3 girls to wear to 5 days of school! But–we didn’t have as much stuff.

  2. February 3, 2009 2:15 am

    Sadly, it is rare for us NOT to have toys on the kitchen counter in our house …

    Nice new look for the blog! I like it!

  3. February 5, 2009 6:32 pm

    And I never thought my house would be covered in Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles and Batman gear! And probably like you in all the fairies and Barbies, just when I think it is a crazy-making boy-splosion, I realize how completely lucky I am to have all those little signs of him in every little corner (and I mean *every*).

    Love your blog and am so honored to be on your blogroll! Thank you.

  4. February 6, 2009 4:47 pm

    Ah, reading about girls so makes me envious.

    Love the new blog design.

    PS. You won the AquaJuice giveaway over at Who’s the Boss?. Please email me your shipping address.

Leave a Reply

