Skip to content

Why do we buy this stuff?

January 29, 2009

I had a conversation with someone today about our culture of “stuff.” Everyone has spent so many dollars and so much time in the recent past, acquiring stuff. Bigger TVs, fancier phones, huge purses, gas guzzling cars, amazing amounts of batteries and plastic that make up children’s toys. People think that things will make them happy, but in the end, I think, they just make us feel worse. Because they take up our money, our space; they have to be cleaned up or traded in, or thrown in the landfill.

I know that I am constantly horrified and frustrated by the amount of stuff my family of 4 owns. Mind you, I buy things when I want or need them. I don’t particularly like to shop though, and I am a bit of a conservationist and minimalist. I don’t really understand, however, how we ended up with all these THINGS.

Anyway, this story was the lead on Yahoo for awhile today. I have laughed about this product, and this story cracked me up. And it made me a little sad, for our consumer culture. I mean, get a blanket, people!

I hope that one silver lining of the cloud that is today’s economic situation turns out to be people buying and acquiring less stuff. It’s better for your financial bottom line, it’s better for the environment, and I believe it’s ultimately better for your emotional well being

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 30, 2009 9:24 pm

    I would have bought a Snuggie, but I spent the $19.95 on a ShamWow!

  2. coot permalink
    January 31, 2009 7:58 pm

    I think I’ll swear off China for a stretch, and see how much less junk I (and you) accumulate. Coot

  3. jec permalink
    February 2, 2009 12:50 am

    But. . .but. . .not spending is unpatriotic!

  4. February 2, 2009 3:59 pm

    I’m with you. We are not big spenders in this household, and yet we still have accumulated a boat load of stuff. Most of it isn’t stuff we purchased either – gifts and hand-me-downs are our biggest problem.

    PS. Inside I secretly want a Snuggie. Just like when my son was born I secretly wanted a Bugaboo stroller. But both seem like a waste of money to me.

  5. February 6, 2009 7:38 pm

    Another great product I saw on TV this morning is a DVD of Johnny Cash reading the Bible. Thought that might be of interest in your household.

Trackbacks

  1. Little Girls « The Politics of Life

Leave a Reply

