Skip to content

Thanksgiving Challenge

November 25, 2008

I’m taking this challenge to write a post about someone I’m thankful for. I’ve been thinking a lot about this. There are a lot of people who I am grateful for in my life. My husband J. My mom. My brother and my dad, along with other relatives. Certain friends who were there at certain times in my life. But I keep coming back to not one, but two people.

My kids.

I know, of course we’re thankful for our children. We love them. Shocker. But they’re who I keep thinking about, and this is my blog, so they’re who I’m going to write about.

I’m going to write the toughest part of this first. Toughest for me to write without blubbering that is.

 I’m thankful that Bug and Bean are here. I never had to wait and wish I’d get pregnant or have a healthy, to term pregnancy. I was lucky enough to have that part be easy for me. But there were moments, in hospitals and doctors offices, when I wasn’t sure that I’d still have my girls when they were almost 5, and 14 months old. There have been a lot of nights when I worried this was the last hug I’d get, and mornings when I was afraid of what I would find in the crib.

Because of the rare (and still unexplained) blood disorders both girls have had, we’ve spent a lot of time in hospital hematology/oncology clinics. Thankfully, my kids were probably among the healthiest ones there. The other kids had cancer, or sickle cell anemia. I have met babies and parents there, and then read that same baby’s obituary in the paper. I’m thankful that we can leave that clinic in good health and not under the crushing heartbreak that some parents have left it.

I am thankful that now we’re at the point where Bean will be “released” from the clinic’s care. The doctor will send us out into an uncertain world with two beautiful, healthy girls. And we hope that they will stay that way, and that they won’t remember the hundreds of blood draws and IVs they each experienced.

On a lighter note, I’m thankful for Bug and Bean because they remind me to stop, calm down, and play a game of peek a boo. Or splash water in the bathtub. They don’t understand the horrible consequences of these actions… because there are none. Nothing awful will happen if I don’t return an email immediately, or if I get dinner on the table 10 minutes later. They make me remember that.

I’m thankful for Bug and Bean because even when I do act like a messy playroom or a late bedtime is the end of the world, they don’t hold it against me. All evening I’ve corrected them, snapped at them, and rushed them. I had a bad day and they were bearing the brunt of it. Then, after all my nastiness, Bean still snuggled her head into my shoulder in the rocking chair and put her little arms around my neck before I put her down for bed. Bug still hugged me and said, “I love you more than all my toys and all my clothes.” I had been yelling at this kid for the past 30 minutes, and she still would give up all her worldly possessions for me.

I’m thankful that Bug and Bean are here. Here for me to clean up after, chase around, discipline, tell “No” over and over. I’m thankful they’re here for me to hug, kiss, tickle, feed, read with, push on a swing and to love unconditionally and fiercely.

P.S. I am also very thankful that we have worldly possessions to comtemplate giving up for each other, that we have jobs that wear us out by the end of the day, that we have plenty of food to put on the table – late or not. We don’t live extravagantly, but I’m often a bit disgusted at how much meaningless “stuff” we accumulate day after day. I’m thankful we have the option to cut back.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 25, 2008 3:32 am

    Beautiful post. Just … wow. You made me cry.

  2. November 25, 2008 11:33 am

    Very good post. Thanks for accepting my challenge!

    Can I link to it on my site, or are you still keeping this site low profile? As Billy the Kid protrayed by Emilio Estevez said:

    “I’ll make you famous.”

  3. November 25, 2008 5:27 pm

    I’m so glad you took up this challenge!

    It really is amazing how much our kids give us to be thankful for, how much they remind us of what truly is important in life – Matt said this post might make me cry and it did…

  4. November 25, 2008 7:30 pm

    very well done, you must be a great mom.

  5. jec permalink
    November 25, 2008 9:09 pm

    Loves you more than all her toys and clothes! That’s saying a lot. I’m so sorry you had to go through all that, and so thankful that both girls are fine. To have that love, we must have the pain and worry that goes with it, but we wouldn’t have it any other way. I would have to say I’m most thankful for my children and grandchildren–they occupy my thoughts a lot!

  6. Lucy permalink
    November 26, 2008 1:36 am

    Thank you for helping me think about how lucky I am to have two healthy and happy kids!!! Although they may drive me absolutely crazy, they are healthy, and that’s what I need to remember! There are so many people out there who are going through so much heartache with their children. But I have been so tremendously lucky to have such healthy and happy children. I hope you guys have a great Thanksgiving and I can’t wait to see you around Christmas time!!! Give the girls a big hug and kiss from Lucy!

  7. November 26, 2008 5:17 am

    As the father of a two month old baby girl (my first) I absolutely loved this post. Fortunately, for us, our little girl was as healthy as can be, but I just loved the honesty you shared, and the way you reminded us all how kids have a way of slowing us down.

    I’m glad you allowed Matt to share this post.

    Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family.

  8. November 26, 2008 1:50 pm

    Great post!

    I added a link to you on jodifur!

Leave a Reply

