Skip to content

Wow

November 5, 2008

I don’t even know what to say right now, what to think. We just elected Barack Obama President of the United States. “My” candidate won. A black man is President of the United States. I’m surprised. I’m happy. I’m relieved. I’m scared. I’m sorry I’m by myself and not in a room full of people. But if I were I think I’d be crying and blubbering. I’m not blubbering by myself.

I do believe that we will be better off with President Obama than we would have been with President McCain. I am happy for us, for my children, for people who need help with their healthcare, their education, their finances.

I’m scared too. But that’s a concern for another time. Tonight I have to have this experience.

P.S. He won Virginia too! That’s almost bigger than him winning the entire country!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 5, 2008 4:37 am

    It is pretty amazing, isn’t it? The VA win is huge, DemMom! Congrats!

    Wow, indeed!

  2. JEC permalink
    November 7, 2008 4:24 pm

    I cast my first vote in 1968, and I’m so glad I was able to experience this election. And go Virginia! It feels weird to be part of the “mainstream.” If anyone can meet the challenges ahead, Obama can, and I hope he’ll inspire a new generation the way Kennedy did.

    Maybe this breakthrough will lead to the next one–a woman for president.

    And I must say, that in spite of her flaws, the Republicans chose Sarah Palin for V.P. candidate; the way they are savaging her now is unseemly and mean-spirited. Maybe they should be called Republicannibals.

Leave a Reply

