Skip to content

Gotta Do What Works

October 15, 2008

Recently I read this post on one of my regular blog stops. It made me think about one of my biggest stressors as a working mom: dinner! At least a couple days a week, I don’t get home until about 6:30. Considering I try to get my kids in bed around 8, this doesn’t give us much quality, “down” time on those evenings. On these days, I either rush around in the AM trying to get ready for dinner that night, or I end up feeding them not so healthy convenience foods.

I don’t like cooking. And I’m not particularly good at it. So on the same day that I read the blog post referenced above, I made what can only be described as the worst dinner ever. It was a crockpot recipe, seemed simple enough. That morning, as I frantically tried to get everything in the crock while the girls ate breakfast, J. and I argued about my “chicken handling” techniques. The Bug interrupted us by saying, “Please stop arguing.” That stopped me cold; I never want to give our kids reason to say that.

Anyway, I threw everything in the crock, and we all came home that evening to a disgusting concoction. So I sat there thinking about the chicken I was about to throw away, and the argument of that morning. And it occurred to me that we didn’t need all this stress. Our kids attend a daycare center that serves 3 meals a day. It won’t hurt the girls to eat dinner there once or twice a week. If J. can’t get them home earlier, they can eat there by 6 pm, come home, play, have a snack, and get to bed at a decent time.

We tried this out tonight, and I have to say, it was great. Everyone was happy, the girls had a great dinner, and we got to play before bed. I’m not causing my children any harm by doing this, I’m just doing what works for us. Quality time together doesn’t have to be around the dinner table. And, bonus, I don’t have to do dishes!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. JEC permalink
    October 15, 2008 5:00 pm

    Sounds great–you really do have excellent day care. And–it’s okay if your kids hear you argue occasionally–as long as you “fight fair” and then try to reach a solution. Children should know that daily life includes disagreements–it’s good to learn how to resolve them. But, of course, they are very sensitive to parental tension!

  2. October 31, 2008 6:06 pm

    I really wanted to thank you for the thoughtful comment you left on jodifur. I’m sorry for your illness and I hope you continue to be well.

Leave a Reply

