Skip to content

It got me! Almost

October 10, 2008

Yesterday, about 3 days after my “karma” moment at the gas station, I was driving to work. I was very close to that same gas station, and I was considering stopping for another cup of coffee. I reached back for my wallet… and realized I had left it at home.

Not only was a third cup of sweet caffeine off limits, but I had been planning on getting gas that afternoon on the way home! Not now. I was practically… almost positive that I could get home on the gas in my car. But what if I ended up like that guy, beggng for gas? Actually, I’d probably end up asking a co-worker for a little cash, but considering I’ve only worked there a few weeks, it would be almost like asking a stranger!

Anyway, I made it home, and got gas this morning before any other errands were run. So I guess I didn’t really test “karma” but we came close.

Interestingly, this whole thing made me think about giving away money in other situations, like to the guys who stand on the corners around here with cardboard signs. Sometimes I give a dollar, sometimes I look away while I’m stopped at the light. And then Dooce wrote this post that says a lot of what I was thinking.

Total side note: GAS COSTS $2.99 AGAIN!!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 11, 2008 12:58 am

    Meant to write a comment on that first post, but it’s been a crazy week … anyway, my hunch is that the guy you gave the gas to was likely legit. I don’t know if I would have thought as quickly as you – asking how far he was going, thinking to have the cashier ring up $10 on that pump (I always pay right at the pump). It does make you think …. Glad you got home OK!

  2. JEC permalink
    October 13, 2008 4:58 pm

    On a similar note, from October 12 Wash. Post: What I Did, and Couldn’t Do, for Rick

    http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2008/10/10/AR2008101002601.html

Leave a Reply

