Skip to content

This IS the politics of life

September 3, 2008

For the past 4 days, I have been struck speechless by the latest developments in the Presidential campaign. And for those of you who know me, I am rarely speechless. Especially when it comes to politics. I cannot believe McCain’s VP pick. I’ll address it politically, then as a woman and a mom. Politically–what were you thinking? Who are your advisors? They should be fired! Noone’s ever heard of this woman. 2 years ago she was mayor of a fishing village. And you’ve blown your biggest attack against Obama! Can’t talk about inexperience now. At least he’s been involved in the federal government! She’s the Governor…of ALASKA. No offense, but Alaska? Politically, I think this is a “Hail Mary,” which probably wasn’t even necessary at this stage.

As a woman and a mom, I am insulted, horrified and sad. I’m insulted that McCain and the GOP think that women are so shallow, that they’ll vote for any woman, no matter who she may be. I won’t vote for someone just because it’s historic. The history I want to make here is electing someone who ends the war. I don’t care if that person is old, a woman, black, or has hair plugs. As long as it ends. Women just aren’t stupid enough to fall for this.

I’m also shocked and sad. Sad for her family. I realize it would be very hard to say “No thanks,” to the VP nomination. But this woman had a baby 5 months ago. A baby with Downs syndrome! Not to say that she couldn’t do the job because of this, but this is a major issue that this family will have to deal with forever. Adding to that stress a campaign, and possibility the White House? I think it’s ambition at its worst. When Bug was 2 months old, she became very ill. Long hospital stays and words like “heart failure” were involved. I made a decision, one that was excruciatingly difficult, to quit my full time political campaign job to take care of her. I couldn’t work the way they wanted me to and do what was best for my family. I have never  regretted that decision for a second, even when that candidate was on the Democratic VP short list. I cannot imagine doing many jobs, let alone running for VP, with an infant with special needs, no matter how much help you have.

The next development was that Palin’s teenage daughter is pregnant. I don’t care how old she is, if she’s married, or if she keeps the baby (the fact that they want kudos for “keeping their babies,” but don’t want to give other women the choice is a whole other post). Her sex life and pregnancy are none of my business. I don’t think this makes her mother a failure as a parent. I care that her mother is putting her through what will surely be a horribly difficult time, on top of a situation that was already stressful.

I have to admit that I find the idea of “having it all” to be a joke. But good for you if you can fake it well. Trouble is, I don’t think Governor Palin is going to be able to fake it, and I think her family will be the ones who suffer.

On the upside, the Democrats can just sit back and watch the McCain campaign implode.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

