Skip to content

Who will they be?

August 27, 2008

My girls are the cutest things ever. Sorry, everyone, but it’s true. I just can’t believe that we created these two happy, beautiful, brilliant human beings. I went in Bean’s room this morning to get her up. She was awake, just playing in her crib. When I picked her up, she squeezed my neck and buried her face in my shoulder. It was the best hug ever. And when I asked for another, she gave me one just like it. After I got the Bean dressed, we went to wake up the Bug. It took a few minutes, but once she was up, she was her radiant self. She put on the outfit she had picked out the night before. And she decided at the last minute to put on sneakers and socks. Once they were on she said, “I feel so tall.” I guess after wearing sandals and flip flops for 3 months, that’s the sensation sneakers give you!

It was just one of the tiny things I want to remember, her saying that while walking down the hall, eating dry cereal out of a bowl. We walked out to J.’s car together. I helped buckle them in and they drove off to daycare. Now the house is quiet and I’m sitting in the playroom with my computer, preparing to work (the AC is broken and this is the coolest room in the house). I’m looking around at their huge collection of toys, wondering what they’ll be like when they’re teenagers, college students, women, mothers. It’s amazing to me that they’re “ours.”

I heard J. asking Bug to “stay 4 years old forever” the other day. She refused, of course, because she’s ready for kindergarten, ear piercing, not having milk every night at dinner (these are the things she associates w/getting bigger). He loves this age, he and Bug are friends; they wrestle, play music, read and laugh together. But I agree with Bug. I don’t want them to stay little. I want to remember and savor every moment, but I can’t wait to see who they are, what they learn, how they live as they grow up.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 27, 2008 6:32 pm

    I have a Palm and The Dean has a Blackberry. I admit, I’m not as diligent about using the Palm as I should be – and need to be. But, The Dean cannot live without his Blackberry, and if I had my choice (i.e., if MY employer was paying for such a gadget, as The Dean’s is), then I’d definitely go for a Blackberry. It seems easier to do email on the BB than my Palm. Just my .02 on sale.

Leave a Reply

