Skip to content

Help! I need a new gadget!

August 27, 2008

I need some advice. I started my new job a couple weeks ago. I work at home some, work in the office (1.5 hrs from home) some. I will be traveling some. Plus I have a very active family, a new (to us) house in need of some repairs, and friends and family I want to keep up with, make plans with, etc. I’ve been using my Outlook calendar on my computer. Plus I have a paper planner that I write appointments, repairmen, meetings, etc. in and carry around. And I have a dry erase calendar on the fridge. Trouble is, I can’t keep up with it all! I think I want a gadget that will do it all. Phone, email, calendar. I guess something to sync up with Outlook. One thing I can carry everywhere, check my calendar and schedule things when necessary. Store phone numbers, even get email when I’m on the road (this definitely will be potentially addictive for me, but I’ll try to keep it under control). I’m sure I’ll keep the dry erase calendar on the fridge, because it helps J. keep up with who picks up the girls, and the other big stuff (he’s not interested in being this technical-I can’t even get him to carry his cell phone, it’s always in his car).

I have a Razor cell phone now, with Verizon service. J. and I are on the same plan, and it’s not too pricey. I don’t want to get talked into anything that is too expensive or won’t meet my needs if I walk into the Verizon store. I don’t know the difference between a Blackberry, a Palm Pilot, and whatever else is out there, so I need a little education. I hope you will post advice in the comments or email me at demmom74@yahoo.com. Thank you!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 27, 2008 5:50 pm

    I love my LG enV. It’s got everything I need — phone, email, web, navigation, keyboard, the works! Costs a little under $100 a month for the total package service.

  2. August 28, 2008 3:40 pm

    The good news is that there are a bunch of options. I have a blackberry and love it. I think it is probably the work horse of smart phones. I have it synced with my Outlook at work, two personal email accts. I use the calendar for both personal and work (I mark the personal stuff as private)

    If you want to sync it with work, you typically need approval at your work to get on their correct server. So if this is priority, talk to your manager first before you shop around. The company may require you to purchase a specific phone or plan.

    When you shop around, make sure you price for unlimited data with whatever minutes you want for the phone. I think I paid around 100 a month for data and phone before my work picked up the tab.

    Oh and it you are going to be using it heavily, I’d recommend getting the full qwerty keyboard on the phone to make “typing” that much easier.

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

