Skip to content

Babies, babies everywhere!

February 27, 2008

I have 3 friends who have all had babies in the last 3 months. I am so happy for each of them and can’t wait for all of our kids to be friends. I have to say though, these are all friends who I didn’t really expect to have kids. I shouldn’t say that. Thing is, I wouldn’t have been surprised if they hadn’t. That’s the way to put it.

All these women are in different marital situations, at different ages, from different backgrounds, took various paths to having children (one “surprise,” one on the first “try” and one after a lot of trying and treatments-did I mention that one resulted in twins? God love her).

I’ve made a lot of friends since I had children, who I probably never would have met had I not had kids. These are great people, and I believe my life is better with them in it. But the 3 women I’m talking about here are all friends I had BEFORE any of us had kids (2 of them I knew a good 10 YEARS before I started having kids). And these are exactly the kind of women that I feel 100% comfortable/excited about doing stuff like “play dates” with. Because it is guaranteed that while the kids play, we will a) talk about politics b) talk about work c)  have a cup of coffee or a glass of wine, depending on the time of day, without guilt and c) make sarcastic remarks about events, people, our families, and what a couple of us call “The Mommy Cult” (consisting of those women whose only identity is their motherhood). My friend S., who I wrote about last week falls into the same category of friend, although I always knew she would have kids.

I don’t even know what the point of this post is. Except that people surprise you, and I think they surprise themselves sometimes too. But that kids should add to your life and personality, not replace it. These friends understand this.

I, M, and L: I’m so excited about our kids to growing up together! Between us there are 3 boys and 3 girls… lots of arranged marriages to plan!

One Comment leave one →
  1. G'mama permalink
    March 5, 2008 5:15 pm

    Sarcastic remarks about your FAMILIES? Oh, come on, what could you possibly find to say about your family? [why my mother and brother had a big fight about a dog]
    And speaking of, MLE advised me to get $150 – $200 shoes (at the discount outlet) to help my knees. Does insurance pay for that?

Leave a Reply

